Central Academy Students Earn Top Honors in Scholastic Writing Competition

Ten Central Academy Advanced Creative Writing students received recognition from the University of Iowa’s Belin-Blank Center for their entries in the 2013 Midwest Region Scholastic Writing Awards, including earning several top honors in the competition.

Submissions were judged by luminaries in the visual and literary arts, some of whom are past award recipients. Panelists look for works that best exemplify originality, technical skill and the emergence of a personal voice or vision.

Three students received a Gold Key award, the highest level of achievement and whose submissions will be considered for national-level recognition. They are:

Name Home School Grade Entry
William Karr Roosevelt 12 Palmer
Nathan Leys Roosevelt 12 @
Ben Sides Lincoln 12 Fragments

Two students received a Silver Key award, which is awarded to approximately 10 to 15 percent of all regional submissions. They are:

Name Home School Grade Entry
Grace Anshutz Roosevelt 12 The Seemingly Most Unlikely “pinner”
True Wheeldon East 12 Anima

Six students received Honorable Mention. They are:


Name Home School Grade Entry
Eric Chen WDM Valley 12 One
Jennifer Hugg Roosevelt 12 The   Barn Fire
Elaina Steenson Roosevelt 12 Dysplaced
Milena Torres Lincoln 12 Grey   Hound Station
Kate Will Roosevelt 12 All   of My Heroes Are Fictional
Shivani Kumaresan Callanan 8 Unforgiving   Stream, A Glass Chandelier, Veiled, Fields of a Lifetime

Teens in grades 7 through 12 can apply in 28 categories of art and writing for the chance to earn scholarships and have their works exhibited or published. Students who win at the regional level are celebrated at local ceremonies and have their work showcased in exhibitions, publications and at public readings. National Medalists are celebrated at a prestigious Carnegie Hall ceremony and have their work showcased in reputable galleries in New York City.

Central Academy’s Advanced Creative writing teachers are Sherry Brooks, Amy Finnegan, Catie Miller and Diane Morain.

The Belin-Blank Center serves as the Iowa Affiliate and the Midwest Region-at-Large Affiliate of the Alliance for Young Artists and Writers for the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards.

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards have an impressive legacy dating back to 1923 and a noteworthy roster of past winners including Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Robert Redford and Joyce Carol Oates.

Published on