IB Course Offerings

The IB Diploma Programme curriculum consists of six academic areas and three core requirements.  Over the course of the two-year program, students:

  • study six subjects chosen from six subject groups
  • follow a Theory of Knowledge course (TOK)
  • complete an extended essay (4,000 word maximum)
  • participate in creativity, action, service (CAS) approximately 3 hours per week

Normally three of the six subjects are studied at higher level (HL) and the remaining three subjects are studied at standard level (SL)

Central Academy IB Offerings

Group 1:  Studies in Language & Literature English HL
Group 2:  Language Acquisition Spanish B SL

Spanish ab initio SL

Chinese ab initio SL

French B SL

Group 3:  Individuals & Societies History SL;

History HL

Group 4:  Sciences Biology  SL and HL;

Chemistry SL and HL;

Physics SL and HL

Group 3 or 4:  Interdisciplinary Environmental Systems & Societies SL
Group 5:  Mathematics

**Placement exam in April

Mathematical Studies SL

Mathematics SL

Group 6:  The Arts Visual Arts SL and HL